Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Woods, John, 1926-



  • Existence: 1926-1995

biographical statement

John Warren Woods (1926-1995) is the author of over a dozen collections of poetry including The Deaths at Paragon, Indiana (Indiana University Press, 1955), Turning to Look Back: Poems 1955-1970 (Indiana University Press, 1972) and Black Marigolds (University Press of Florida, 1994). He was born in Martinsville, IN in 1926 and died in 1995. He served in the U.S. Army Air Force from 1944 to 1946 and earned his B.S. from Indiana University in 1949, as well his M.A., in 1954. He did additional graduate study at the University of Iowa between 1957 and 1958. In 1955, he joined the faculty of the Department of English at Western Michigan University and worked there until his retirement in 1992. Over the course of his career, he received the Theodore Roethke Award from Poetry Northwest, Publication Award from the National Endowment of the Arts,  Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award from Western Michigan University, Distinguished Michigan Artist Award, Michigan Individual Artist Grant and a National Endowment of the Arts Fellowship.


"John Woods." Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2001. Literature Resources Center. Web. 4 Feb. 2013.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

John Woods Papers

Identifier: 03-exws_woods
Abstract Personal papers of twentieth century American poet John Woods, including drafts of individual poems and book manuscripts, research materials, academic career files, photographs, cassette tape recordings. Also associated with this collection are 987 books from the poet's personal library, many inscribed by the authors (the books are cataloged separately and searchable through the WMU Libraries online catalog)
Dates: 1948-1996; Majority of material found within Bulk 1950-1992; Other: Date acquired: 07/15/1999